I just wanted to talk about ska.

26 Feb

I realize a lot of my posts are about music, and that is probably not the most ideal thing to be blogging about, since I am a “writer” and my “blog posts” should “be about” things like “writing” and “writing-related activities.”  Instead, I’d like to talk about music, again.

In a few minutes, I’m going to leave my apartment and go play a show with the band I was in during high school.  We were/are a ska band, or we try to be at least.  If you were living under a rock in 1997 and have no idea what I’m talking about, here’s a short history:  after World War II, Jamaicans started buying American rhythm and blues records in large numbers and started playing their interpretation of it.  Eventually, as the legend goes, the hot Kingston sun was too hot to play guitar at the speed ska required, so the guitarists chilled out and the sound slowed down, eventually becoming reggae.

In the later part of the seventies and the early eighties, British teenagers began discovering the old ska records and started infusing it with punk and New Wave, and this new pseudo-genre became known as Two Tone.

In the early to mid 90s, a similar rediscovery happened in America, especially in Southern California.  These new listeners continued to fuse ska with punk, and bands like Reel Big Fish, The Mighty Mighty Bosstones, and Catch 22 exploded in popularity in 1997.

I don’t really remember where I was going with this.  I had a point, I promise.  Ska has fallen out of favor nowadays, and I have not listened to it very much since graduating high school, but it sure is fun to play.

 

-Bryan

Leave a Reply

