“Body” Art

20 Nov

Art is such a flexible, beautiful thing. The boundaries are limitless and not all art has to be done in the traditional forms such as painting, drawing, ceramics, and/or sculpture.  Liu Bolin takes his Art an extra 100 steps forward by becoming apart of the scene which he wants to capture.  It isn’t a pretty story, but a sad one.

“Liu said he wanted to show how city surroundings affected people living in them.

He added that the inspiration behind his work was a sense of not fitting in to modern society and was a silent protest against the persecution of artists.

He said: ‘Some people call me the invisible man, but for me it’s what is not seen in a picture which is really what tells the story.

‘After graduating from school I couldn’t find suitable work and I felt there was no place for me in society.

‘I experienced the dark side of society, without social relations, and had a feeling that no one cared about me, I felt myself unnecessary in this world.

‘From that time, my attitude turned from dependence into revolting against the system.’  ”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To read more of this article, click here.
Leave a Reply

