TOP TEN ALBUMS OF THE YEAR MEGAPOST THIS POST IS PROBABLY WAY TOO LONG TO BE PRACTICAL BUT OKAY

18 Nov

I realize I blog a lot about music, but I draw a lot of my inspiration as a writer from music.  I even had a stretch where every short story I wrote was inspired by a lyric from a song.  Music, however, is more easily accessible and more quickly digested than books–so with that in mind, I present to you my probably premature list of the top ten albums of the year.  Maybe you’ll even find something you like.

10. The Weakerthans – Live at the Burton Cummings Theatre

I feel like this is cheating, since this is a live album, but the Weakerthans are just so good.  Since none of these songs were originally released in 2010, it’s relegated to number 10.  Regardless, these Canadians don’t disappoint with their live show.

9. Trampled By Turtles – Palomino

Trampled By Turtles play “speedgrass”–a form of bluegrass which is hella fast–and they’re pretty damn good at it.  I’d never heard of them until this album, but I’ll definitely be checking them out more in the near future.

8. Born Ruffians – Say It

I haven’t quite figured out what makes Born Ruffians so charming, but I can’t get enough of them.  Say It marks an interesting change in sound from their first album, but I like the direction in which they’re headed.

7. The Walkmen – Lisbon

It breaks my heart to have this record so low on the list, because I listened to this so much this year.  I guess that speaks to the quality of the year in music, though.  Turns out the Walkmen actually did make good music after “The Rat” got so popular.

6. Admiral Fallow – Boots Met My Face

I have no idea how I found out about this band, but I’m glad I did.  Though the accent is sometimes obnoxiously Scottish, the tunes–which sound almost orchestral at times–more than make up for it.

5. Frightened Rabbit – The Winter of Mixed Drinks

Another Scottish band makes the list, this time in Frightened Rabbit.  Though this record is a departure from the folksy sound I fell in love with on The Midnight Organ Fight, it’s still lovely.

4. Ted Leo and the Pharmacists – The Brutalist Bricks

I’ve loved Ted Leo for ages.  I’ve seen him twice, and I completely recommend it if you’re ever presented with the opportunity, because he’s one hell of a performer.  Also, his drummer has a sweet beard.

3. Paul Baribeau – Unbearable

Paul Baribeau is not a good singer.  At least, not in the traditional sense.  But he’s earnest and his songs are simple and beautiful, and his singing comes out charming.  Nothing will probably ever top his self-titled record, but this tries real hard.

2. Bomb the Music Industry! – Adults!!!

BTMI! puts out all their records for free on their website.  They don’t sell shirts, but if you go to a show and bring your own blank, they’ll be happy to spray paint their stencil onto it for you.  That’s part of why I love them.  They’re concerned about the music above all else.  Their earlier stuff is kind of hard to get into if you’re just starting, since it’s all just Jeff Rosenstock and his computer, but he’s finally got himself a full band, and this new stuff is much more accessible.  So check it out. (http://www.quoteunquoterecords.com/qur038.htm)

Bomb the Music Industry! – All Ages Shows

1. The Tallest Man on Earth – The Wild Hunt

Everyone who says Kristian Matsson’s voice is annoying can go suck an egg, because he’s brilliant.  This is far and away the best record of the year, and I know that I’ve put a lot of stuff into this post, but if you’ve made it this far down, just listen to this record.

I’ve wasted enough of your time.  Later.

-Bryan

One Response to “TOP TEN ALBUMS OF THE YEAR MEGAPOST THIS POST IS PROBABLY WAY TOO LONG TO BE PRACTICAL BUT OKAY”

  1. thepeel November 22, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    RUV IT

Leave a Reply

