On Child Stars

4 Nov

Note:
While writing this blog post, I also will be making chili and listening to old-time music, so if I get off topic, please understand.  I am slightly comforted by the fact that this will be better than my last blog post no matter what I write.

For those of you who are unaware (and if you are unaware, I can’t imagine why you would be), there is a new hot track that is lighting up the charts (I assume.)  It’s called “Whip My Hair,” and it is performed by Willow Smith.  Willow Smith is, of course, the daughter of Will Smith and Jada Pinkett Smith.  She is ten years old.

This song is very catchy, as a good pop song should be.  But she’s ten years old.

Ten. Years. Old.

Justin Bieber is also a “hot ticket” these days, and he was discovered by Usher’s people on accident when he was 14, and is currently blowin’ up da chartz at the age of 16 with the help of Ludacris.

SIXTEEN.

Do you know what I was doing when I was sixteen?  I had just gotten my driver’s license and was so excited.  I was not hanging out with Usher.

Now, as long as there have been parents who want to exploit their kids, there have been child stars.  Sometimes things work out for them (see: Shirley Temple), sometimes things work out after some trouble (see: Drew Barrymore), and sometimes things go absolutely terribly (see: Gary Coleman.)

But what’s going to happen to Miley Cyrus?  Are the Jonas Brothers going to end up in the gutter?  Will the Biebs end up in prison?

Maybe more importantly, what does that say about us as a culture, that we’re allowing these kids to experience such success so early?

Only time will tell, friends.  Maybe.

My chili is done.

-Bryan Etheridge
Prose Committee Chair

Macaulay Culkin has really done well for himself.

Leave a Reply

