Talkin’ ‘Bout My Generation

3 Nov

I work closely with the public, and have many interactions with Faculty and students alike. I’ve noticed the disdain that some of the older Faculty members feel for my generation. As a member of Generation Y, or the Echo Boomers (that sounds so awesome), I object!

Just the other day a woman who looked to be in her late fifties was ranting to me about how students don’t know how to do research anymore from books, instead we all just use Wikipedia. That sweeping generalization aside, I’m pretty sure that as a generation we can find the answers to any question much more quickly than her’s could. On top of that, anything we would find would probably be much more up to date than those books published in the ’70s. Another note, I was reading a book while she was ranting.

Even growing up I’d hear my Grandmother complaining about my generation not knowing any geography. This is a good point. Sorry I don’t know where Malawi is on a map (pretty sure she doesn’t either), but at least I can do long division.

We’ve grown up in a world experiencing the Soviet Union falling, First Gulf War, terrorism, Iraq, the Internet, school shootings, Princess Di, OJ, dot-com busts, SARS, Economic Crisis, anthrax and Tsunamis. We are a diverse, tolerant, tech savvy, socially aware group of achievers.

This is my generation, baby.

 

One Response to “Talkin’ ‘Bout My Generation”

  1. Angie November 3, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    Right on! They just don’t know how to recognize.

Leave a Reply

